Immune Monitoring Workshop (invitation only) November 8, 2001 Natcher Auditorium, NIH Campus

Sponsor: Society for Biological Therapy


  • Dr. Michael B. Atkins
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Dr. Ulrich Keilholz
    Freie Universität Berlin
  • Dr. Jeffrey S. Weber
    University of Southern California

From NCI

  • Dr. James A. Zwiebel
    Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program

From FDA

  • Dr. Pat Keegan

Steering/Writing Committee

  • Dr. Mary L. (Nora) Disis
    University of Washington
  • Dr. James H. Finke
    Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Dr. Dmitri Gabrilovich
    Loyola University
  • Dr. Martin Kast
    Loyola University
  • Dr. Peter Lee
    UCLA Medical Center
  • Dr. Norm Letvin
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Dr. H. Kim Lyerly
    Duke University Medical Center
  • Dr. Skip Maino
    BD Biosciences
  • Dr. Franco Marincola
    National Cancer Institute
  • Dr. James J. Mule
    University of Michigan Medical Center
  • Dr. Drew Pardoll
  • Dr. Pedro Romero
    Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
  • Dr. Jeff Schlom
    National Cancer Institute
  • Dr. Carmen Scheibenbogen
    Freie Universität Berlin
  • Dr. Walter Storkus
    University of Pittsburgh

This international workshop is being organized by the Society for Biological Therapy, with participation by the CTEP Vaccine Working Group of the NIH, the United States FDA, and other thought leaders in this discipline. It will be held on November 8, 2001 at the Natcher Auditorium on the NIH Campus in Bethesda, MD immediately prior to the 16th Annual Meeting for the SBT.

The Workshop will focus on the current state of the art for immune monitoring for cancer vaccine and immunotherapy trials with the ultimate goal of publishing Society for Biological Therapy Guidelines for these procedures. These guidelines will be published in early 2002 in the Journal of Immunotherapy. Faculty and participants have been selected from academics and industry. Those interested in more information about this workshop should contact the SBT office at the address listed below.

For more information, please contact:
Society for Biological Therapy
611 East Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: 414/856-6898

Preliminary Program
(this schedule is subject to change)
08:00 to 08:15 Introductory Remarks
Welcome and Housekeeping (5 mins)
Michael Atkins  

CTEP Involvment (5 mins)
Jamie Zwiebel

FDA Interests (5 mins)
Alexandra Worobec

08:15 to 09:45  Background Lectures
Overcoming T Cell dysfunction
Jim Finke/Gabrilovich

AIDS/HIV Vaccine Experience
Norm Letvin

Immune Monitoring; Workshop plan
Jeff Weber

09:45 to 10:00 Coffee Break
10:00 to 12:00 Breakout sessions I: Monitoring of Cancer Vaccine Trials
Topics Leaders
Elispot/ELISA  Jeff Schlom
Carmen Scheibenbogen
Tetramer analyses Walter Storkus
Peter Lee
Flow Cytometry for cytokine secretion Kim Lyerly
Skip Maino
Real Time PCR Franco Marincola
Pedro Romero
T Cell receptor function  Martin Kast
Dmitri Gabrilovitch
James Finke
T Helper and Antibody Assays/LDA Nora Disis
Jim Mule
12:00 to 13:00 Lunch
13:00 to 13:45 Special Lecture: The Critical Role of CD4 Cells in Tumor Immunity
Implications for Evaluation of CD4 Responses in Immunotherapy
Drew Pardoll
13:45 to 15:25 Report of Breakout Groups
15:25 to 15:40 Coffee Break
15:40 to 16:30 Continuation of Reports of Breakout Groups
16:30 to 17:30 Panel discussion-Consensus and Practical applications
17:30 Farewell: Ulrich Keilholz- Future Plans
18:30-20:00 Writing Committee Working Dinner (location TBA)