General Meeting Information

Welcome… to the 17th Annual Meeting of the Society for Biological Therapy and the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines.

SBT 2002 meeting features include a Friday morning Keynote Address by Dennis Slamon, MD, PhD from the University of California, Los Angeles and a Saturday morning Keynote Address by David A. Cheresh, PhD from The Scripps Research Institute.

SBT’s distinguished faculty will lead sessions featuring Antibodies/Immunoconjugates, Engineered T Cells, Vaccines & Mechanisms of Escape, Angiogenesis, Cytokines, New Therapies/Novel Agents, as well as a follow-up to the 2001 Immune Monitoring Workshop.

In addition to the scheduled scientific sessions, this year’s meeting will include a Friday evening Cocktail Reception, SBT Member Lunch/Business Meeting, and a Saturday evening Presidential Reception. Poster sessions will also be held daily throughout the meeting. These activities will provide meeting attendees with the opportunity to network with colleagues in cancer research.

Prior to the 2002 Annual Meeting, SBT held two special meetings: the SBT Angiogenesis Workshop and the SBT Primer on Tumor Immunology.

The Angiogenesis Workshop, an international workshop organized by the Society for Biological Therapy, was sponsored by the Vascular Biology Faculty of the National Cancer Institute, NIH. The ultimate goal of this cutting-edge workshop was to establish Society for Biological Therapy and Vascular Biology Faculty of the NCI joint guidance for Angiogenesis Monitoring of cancer for publication in a leading cancer journal in Spring of 2003.

The SBT Primer on Tumor Immunology included presentations on the basics of tumor immunology in a didactic format with lectures by experts on topics germane to the field. This course was designed to provide attendees a basic understanding of the biology of tumor immunology.

Registration Desk
Registration packets will be ready for pick up at the Registration Desk located on the lower level of the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines. On-site registration will also be accepted.
Registration Desk Hours

Registration Desk Hours

Thursday, November 7 7:00 am – 9:00 pm
Friday, November 8 6:00 am – 6:00 pm
Saturday, November 9 7:00 am – 6:00 pm
Sunday, November 10 8:00 am – 9:30 am


SBT Presidential Award Winners

Judith Kantor, PhD

National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, MD

Carol A. Nieroda, MD

Surgical Oncology
Rockville, MD

David G. Maloney, MD, PhD

Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Laurence Zitvogel, MD, MS

University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Jon M. Wigginton, MD

National Cancer Institute
Frederick, MD

Carmen Scheibenbogen, MD

University Hospital
Benjamin Franklin Free University, Berlin
Berlin, Germany

Tadashi Osaki, MD, PhD

University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Clemens Esche, MD

University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Roopa Srinivasan, PhD

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Julia A. Coronella, PhD

University of Arizona
Arizona Cancer Center
Tucson, AR

Attend the Presidential Session and Presidential Reception on Saturday to find out!